Hetman Awards Nominations


This autumn, the Ukrainian Canadian Congress – Alberta Provincial Branch will once again host the 15th annual Hetman Awards on Sunday, October 6, 2013, to recognize the most outstanding contributions that volunteers have made for the betterment of the Ukrainian-Canadian community.

The Ukrainian Canadian Congress in Alberta established the Hetman Awards in 1998 as a way of both recognizing and thanking the many volunteers in our community who have established organizations, created new projects impacting our cultural development and overall, made a difference by giving of their time, talents and ideas to ensure that our community was active and growing.  At the same time, they, and our community, have contributed to the overall growth and development of the Province of Alberta where today our Ukrainian community is as much mainstream in its’ activities as  is ethnic.

Previous winners of the Hetman Awards include The Honourable Ed Stelmach and Marie Stelmach, Gene ZwozdeskyMarco Levytsky, Maria Dytyniak, George Yopyk, Roman Brytan, Nadia Cyncar, Katrina Baziuk, Andrew Ilnycky, Michael Hantzsch, Taras Uzwyshyn, Peter Dackiw, and many more. Since its’ inception, over 130 awards have been presented.

The UCC-APC welcomes nominations from any organization or group of individuals in Alberta. We strongly encourage all organizations to take the time to recognize those individuals who have made a great personal commitment to ensure our community’s organizations remain active and vibrant. If you or someone you know has greatly impacted the Ukrainian community through tireless volunteer work, please take the time to fill out a nomination form available here.  The deadline for applications is June 3, 2013.

All award recipients will be publicly honoured at the Annual Hetman Awards Gala which will be held in Fall 2013.

For further information, please contact the UCC APC office at 780-414-1624 or email at uccab@shaw.ca